The new issue of the journal is out now!

76 visual artists and art collectives from 50 countries:
PRŌTOCOLLUM 2016/17 is now available

For ordering copies please write to:
Price 35 Euros
Publisher: Dickersbach Kunstverlag, Berlin, Germany
ISBN: 978-3-9816206-4-1
Pages: 321


The third issue of PRŌTOCOLLUM, an annually published anthology dedicated to non-Western contemporary visual artists, art narratives and art history, has been released by DICKERSBACH KUNSTVERLAG. PRŌTOCOLLUM’s issue for 2016/17 features contributions by 76 visual artists and art collectives from 50 countries across Eastern Europe, Africa, the Middle East, Latin America and Asia.

PRŌTOCOLLUM deliberately invites artists to decide independently about the contents of their contributions, without any interference or filtration, curatorial analysis or critical evaluation through editorial or art historical hierarchies. The artists’ contributions are presented to the journal’s readership in an unmediated way and based on the artists’ personal decisions and perspectives.
The weight given to the artists’ authorship on the pages of PRŌTOCOLLUM and the restrictions on editorial interventions are also expressed by the fact that the cover of PRŌTOCOLLUM does not depict any specific artworks and does not highlight any single artist, but instead lists all contributing artists to the respective issue of the journal as equally significant.

To further strengthen regional views and perspectives, PRŌTOCOLLUM 2016/17 continues to develop its concept of peer review, by inviting contributors of previous issues to recommend interesting artists from their regions. In the three issues published so far more than 230 artists and artist collectives from 94 countries have participated in PRŌTOCOLLUM. Being able to tap into the knowledge and expertise of this diverse community puts this journal in a unique position as a platform for non-Western contemporary visual art whose motto Global Perspectives on Visual Vocabulary epitomizes the intention to present a visual arts exhibition in the framework of an art journal, letting the visual flow rather than an alphabetical order determine the sequence of the artists’ contributions.

Contributing artists are: Pio Abad & Maria Taniguchi (Philippines), AES+F (Russia), African Art Book Fair, Song-Ming Ang (Singapore), Orawan Arunrak (Thailand), Blažej Baláž (Slovakia), Bianca Baldi (South Africa), Moridja Kitenge Banza (Congo),  José Bedia (Cuba), Bili Bidjocka (Cameroon), David Böhm & Jiří Franta (Czech Republic), Vesna Bukovec (Slovenia), Ergin Çavuşoğlu (Bulgaria/Turkey), Alejandro Cesarco (Uruguay), Leung Chi Wo (Hong Kong), Lana Čmajčanin (Bosnia and Herzegowina), István Csákány (Romania/Hungary), Tatiana Danilevskaya (Russia), Diana de Solares (Guatemala), Desire Machine Collective (India), Ernest Dükü (Ivory Coast), Fakhri El Ghezal(Tunisia), Andreas Fogarasi (Austria), Foundland (South Africa/Syria), Mekhitar Garabedian (Syria), Euridice Getulio Kala (Mozambique), Alimjan Jorobaev (Kyrgyzstan), Adela Jušić (Bosnia and Herzegowina), Zhanna Kadyrova (Ukraine), Raja’a Khalid (Saudi-Arabia), Tsang Kin-Wah (Hong Kong), Kapwani Kiwanga (Canada), Leon Krige (South Africa), Michael Lee (Singapore), Youssef Limoud (Egypt), Carlos Martiel(Cuba), Olivia McGilchrist (Jamaica), Aurelia Mihai (Romania), Trinh T. Minh-ha (Vietnam), MMMoCa (Nigeria), Naeem Mohaiemen(Bangladesh), Joel Mpah Dooh (Cameroon), Cheikh Ndiaye (Senegal), Abraham Oghobase (Nigeria), Okin Collective (South Korea), Füsun Onur (Turkey), Raquel Paiewonsky (Dominican Republic), Pamela Phatsimo Sunstrum (Botswana), Alexander Povzner (Russia), Jhafis Quintero González (Panama), José Alejandro Restrepo (Colombia), Roee Rosen (Israel), Miti Ruangkritya (Thailand), Graciela Sacco(Argentina), Vivien Sawadogo (Burkina Faso), Massinissa Selmani (Algeria), Sandra Sterle (Croatia), Mariam Suhail (Pakistan), Sutthirat Supaparinya (Thailand), Ana Maria Tavares (Brazil), Tercerunquinto (Mexico), Güneş Terkol (Turkey), The Bureau of Melodramatic Research (Romania), Charwei Tsai (Taiwan), Francisco Ugarte (Mexico), Where Dogs Run (Russia), Miao Xiaochun (China), Lantian Xie(Bahrain), Sun Xun (China), Sharon Ya’ari (Israel), Yang Yongliang (China), Ala Younis (Kuwait), Jakub Julian Ziółkowski (Poland).

%d bloggers like this: